Cold Weather Payment: Full list of triggered postcodes – just 10 days until scheme closes

2 mins read


Ofgem’s price cap will be increasing in April by almost £700 as Britons brace themselves for a myriad of price hikes, tax increases and inflation. The Cold Weather Payment scheme offers low income residents compensation for extreme cold but the scheme will be closing for this winter next week.

The Cold Weather Payment scheme offers low income residents on certain benefits £25 for every seven days of extreme cold weather. 

Cold Weather Payments run from November to March each year, with each seven consecutive days of cold weather providing eligible Britons with £25. 

Britons can use the online postcode checker provided by to check if their area has experienced a triggering temperature which would earn them the subsidy. 

Some areas have experienced multiple triggers, earning residents up to £75 this winter.

The following postcodes have had at least one trigger this winter season for Cold Weather Payments: 

  • AB30
  • AB31
  • AB32
  • AB33
  • AB34
  • AB35
  • AB36
  • AB37
  • AB38
  • AB51
  • AB52
  • AB53
  • AB54
  • AB55
  • DD8
  • DD9


Cold Weather Payments are triggered when an area is forecast to have or does experience seven consecutive days of temperatures zero degrees or below. 

These payments are automatically issued to eligible households within 14 working days of the trigger. 

They will be paid into the bank or building society account where one usually receives their benefits payments. 

Britons who are due a payment but have not received it are advised to contact the Jobcentre Plus, Universal Credit helpline or Pension Service. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Blog